**As of November 1, 2020, all motor vehicle occupants 16 years of age and older will be required to wear a seat belt.** If you are pregnant, your seat belt can help protect you and the unborn baby. Make sure the lap belt is low on your hips under your abdomen and that the shoulder strap is tight and comfortable on your chest and shoulder. Tip: In winter conditions, you may need to loosen or lift a heavy coat so that it does not interfere with the correct seat belt adjustment. Rear passengers caught without seat belts can be fined $50. The driver could also be fined. To ensure passengers are aware of the New York State requirement to buckle up in TLC-licensed vehicles, TLC provides an optional passenger belt sticker addressed to all TLC vehicle licensees. The stickers offer courses in three languages: English, Spanish and Chinese. These stickers should be affixed to the interior window of the seats by licensees. The stickers are provided free of charge to licensees and are not intended for resale.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration found that only 68 percent of rear passengers wear their seat belts unless required by law. This figure rises to 81% when required by law. In 2018 (the most recent dataset available), there were 1,033 motor vehicle deaths in New York City. About 30 percent of road fatalities in New York City involve occupants not wearing seat belts. New York Governor Andrew Coumo has signed a law requiring all occupants of motor vehicles over the age of 16 to wear seat belts, including anyone sitting behind the driver and front passenger. The law will come into force on November 1, 2020. For drivers and passengers over the age of 16, fines for not wearing a seat belt can be as high as $50. It has been a year since the rear seat belt law went into effect in New York City.
AAA reports that those who do not wear seat belts in the back seat are: 2x more likely to be killed 8x more likely to be seriously 🚗 injured 🚗 2x more likely to kill someone sitting in front of pic.twitter.com/jrxIjbyDqr Effective November 1, 2020, New York State will now require all passengers to fasten their seat belts. regardless of 🚗 where they are in the vehicle, including drivers and all passengers. If your passengers are not wearing their seat belts, your vehicle may be stopped and your adult passengers may be ticketed. If you are carrying a passenger under the age of 16 and they are not accompanied by a parent or guardian and are not wearing a seat belt, you (the driver) may receive a ticket. Since then, seat belt use in the state has increased from less than 20 percent to nearly 90 percent, according to the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. Governor Cuomo`s new seat belt law is a “Seat Belt Law.” Statewide, Zero-Tolerance Enforcement Effort,” coordinated by state police, local agencies, sheriff`s offices, and the Governor`s Transportation Safety Committee to increase the use of safety restrictions in New York State. Your seat belt offers the most protection when you are sitting upright. Most seat belts are easy to adjust to allow for comfort and freedom of movement until you need them to protect yourself. To wear your seat belt properly, the lap belt should be tight but comfortable on your thighs at your hip joints and the shoulder strap should be tightened over your chest and shoulder, away from your face or neck.
Never place the shoulder strap behind your back or under your arm. Misuse of a seat belt or shoulder strap can cause internal injuries in the event of an accident. Buckling up is necessary in private vehicles and when driving a taxi or rental car, including on app-based rides. Fasten your seatbelt on every seat, every time you travel. pic.twitter.com/zE26aHjqa0 If you have any questions about obtaining a seat belt sticker, please email TLC at firstname.lastname@example.org or contact us via social media via Twitter, Facebook or Instagram. In 1984, New York became the first state to have a mandatory seat belt law, but it was one of 20 states where not all passengers were required to wear restraint systems. As of November 1, 2020, this is no longer the case. It is not illegal under New York State law for a minor passenger to get into the front seat of a vehicle with a passenger airbag, but it is dangerous.
Recent studies show that airbags can cause serious or fatal injuries to infants, children or young adults sitting in the passenger seat. It is also generally safer for a child of all ages to get in the back seat of a vehicle. For the best protection of child occupants in your vehicle Studies have shown that 90% of adults fasten their seatbelts in the front seat, while only 76% buckle up in the back seat, and even fewer wear seat belts in rental vehicles. New York`s new universal seat belt law, which requires all vehicle occupants to wear seat belts at all times, regardless of age or location, officially went into effect earlier this month. On Sunday, November 1, the Empire State`s new seat belt law went into effect. Adult passengers are required by law to wear seat belts in the back seat. Governor Cuomo`s office said that 30 percent of traffic deaths in New York City are occupants who are not restricted by a seat belt. Until now, adult passengers in New York City only had to wear their seat belts when sitting in the front seat of a vehicle. However, now that the new law has come into force, this requirement has been extended to the rear seat, regardless of the age of the passenger. In 1984, then-Governor Mario Cuomo signed a bill that made New York the first state in the United States to introduce mandatory seat belt law.
However, this law only required that the driver and passenger of a motor vehicle wear a seat belt. Rear seat passengers did not need to wear seat belts. “We have known for decades that seat belts save lives, and with this measure, we continue to strengthen our laws and help prevent unnecessary tragedies. Under my father`s leadership, New York became the first state in the country to pass seat belt legislation, and the nation followed suit. Now, we are building on that legacy and helping to create a safer and stronger Empire State for all. To encourage the selection of appropriate child restraint systems and proper installation, GTSC supports state, local and nonprofit agencies by offering free car seat inspections at fixed assembly stations and car seat check events throughout the state. All passengers in the back seat of a taxi (or a vehicle rented through a limousine service such as Uber or Lyft) who are 16 years of age or older must also be fastened with a seat belt. All passengers seated in the front seat of a taxi or paint job eight years of age or older must also wear a seat belt. Tip: Never place an infant in a rear-facing child seat in the front seat of a vehicle with an airbag on or in the dashboard. The reason for amending this law is the knowledge that state and federal researchers have gained over the past decades that seat belts save lives. The data is conclusive enough that the exclusion of adult rear passengers appears to be a dangerous oversight. The legislation allows officers to stop only for a passenger in the back seat who is not wearing a seat belt, while New Jersey`s seat belt law is only enforced if the vehicle is stopped for any other reason.
To choose the right protection for your child, carefully read the recommendations of manufacturers of child seats or child restraint systems. Recommendations tell you the age and weight and height of a child to use the seat or system. Recommendations are usually printed on the outside of the package. New York was the first state in the country to introduce mandatory seat belt law in 1984. If you have problems with passengers using seat belts and would like to discuss an incident with TLC, please contact TLC External Affairs at email@example.com. Safety seats and child restraint systems must be certified to Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 213. Follow the instructions provided by the seat or system manufacturer and make sure you install and use the seat or system correctly. The Governor`s Highway Safety Committee website contains a list of permanent child seat mounting stations in New York State. However, if a passenger under the age of 16 is named for not wearing a seat belt, the driver can be fined up to $100 and receive three penalty points for each violation.
NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) – New York`s new seat belt law went into effect Sunday.